Essay Rewrites: ENG 1002

Students are able to rewrite one essay each semester and must choose to do so within a week of the essay being returned with feedback. When an essay is rewritten, I will average the two grades together to determine the new, replacement grade. I am willing to work with students who are willing to make the effort to rework essays that earned a lesser grade than expected for whatever reason; however, essay rewrites should go beyond simple grammar or citation updates to include updating sentence phrasing, clearer transitions between thoughts/paragraphs, better argument organization, and stronger use of quote sandwich formatting.

An essay rewrite is a one-time opportunity that can not be repeated by the same student in the same semester.

Here are my expectations and guidelines for turning in an essay rewrite:

STEP 1: You must contact me within a week of receiving your grade/feedback to let me know you plan to rewrite the essay. If you turn in a rewrite without contacting me ahead of time, I will not correct it. 

STEP 2: Visit the writing center with your assignment sheet and original essay; include the writing center slip with your rewritten essay.

STEP 3: Turn in both the original essay and your rewritten essay by the date we determine together during STEP 1.

STEP 4: Upload the rewritten essay to the original essay’s assignment link.

I include expectations and guidelines because it’s not often in the professional world that you are given a second chance, but seeing that this an educational setting, I hope a second chance in this situation will provide you the opportunity to experience and reflect on the changes to your time-management, writing process, and use of student resources that resulted in a higher essay grade.

