Replace a Failed Essay: ENG 0900

First off, please know that it’s not thrilling to fail an essay and I’m well aware that it’s even more upsetting to receive a failing grade. Because receiving a D or F on a formal essay makes passing IVCC’s ENG 0900 course impossible for that semester, I allow students to rework such essays. However, this is a one-time opportunity that can not be repeated by the same student.

Here are my expectations and guidelines for rewriting an essay that originally received a D or F grade:

STEP 1: You must contact me within a week of receiving your failing grade to let me know you plan to rewrite the essay. If you turn in a rewrite without contacting me ahead of time, I will not correct it. 

STEP 2: Visit the Writing Center with your assignment sheet and turn in the writing center slip with your rewritten essay.

STEP 3: Turn in both the original failed essay and your rewritten essay by the date we determine together during STEP 1.  

STEP 4: Upload the rewritten essay to the original essay’s assignment link.

Part of the reason I allow students to replace a failed essay grade because I understand and appreciate that it’s not often done just because students are trying to get away with something. Often, a failed essay results from a lack of time-management, life circumstances, or a concern about asking for help. I hope that the opportunity to experience what it takes to improve your writing process and see the difference between the first process and the second process will allow students to learn from the situation WITHOUT it putting them an entire semester behind.

